A Brief Overview:
In 1953 a group of families living in the Fox Chapel area began to worship together at Shadyside Academy. The Rev. Bickford Lang served as the first pastor. The congregation was officially organized in October 1953 with 339 charter members. The chapel was erected in December 1953 and worship services began to be held on the site of the present church. The church facility has grown to include the Christian Education building, the Fellowship Hall, and the Sanctuary, which was completed in 1964. In recent history the congregation engaged in a systematic program of mission support and extension of facilities, including the new Christian Education classrooms, the Atrium, the Memorial Garden and Columbarium.
- Bickford Lang 1953-1967
- Christian W. Matthews 1968-1979
- John T. Galloway, Jr. 1980-1993
- Robert B. Heppenstall III 1995-2002
- Christopher Taylor 2005- present
The Rev. Lang wrote these words as a preface to the Purpose and Charter of the church:
“Let us have a church that dares imitate the heroism of Jesus; seek inspiration as He sought it; act on the present like Him; pray as He prayed; work as He wrought; live as He lived."
A Rich Legacy Inspiring a Promising Future:
For more than fifty years, the members, leaders and pastors of Fox Chapel Presbyterian Church have continued in the tradition expressed by its first pastor. And those years have been good. Literally thousands of men, women, and children, past and present, have made up its family of faith; and the tradition of Christ-centered ministry in the Fox Chapel area has become an enduring legacy, handed down for others to enjoy and be inspired by.
We welcome you to this vital church community and look forward to an exciting future together.